jump to navigation

So, Who IS this Stolliker Guy Anyway? July 24, 2010

Posted by ambrosestolliker in Musings.
trackback

I wrote in my first post that I would tell readers a little bit about myself, and I will do that. Before I do, however, I want to talk a little bit more about some of the things I’ll write about on A Darkness More Than Night.

This blog will be about more than me, my journey as a writer and a place for readers to find horror fiction that this humble author hopes they’ll enjoy. I’m also going to write reviews on my favorite horror, science fiction and fantasy novels, movies and television shows. I can’t get enough of that stuff, and I feel like a blog is a great place to share one’s thoughts on such things.

Anyway, on to the 411 on yours truly – an interview of myself by…myself. Yeah. OK.

Is Ambrose Stolliker your real name? Sure. Lotsa parents name their kids Ambrose nowadays. šŸ˜‰

Where are you from? Connecticut. Just outside of New York City.

Where do you live now? I live with my wife in Seattle. No, it doesn’t rain all the time. That’s bullshit.

When did you start writing fiction? When I was nine. I almost exclusively wrote high fantasy until I was in college.

What do you do for a living? I’m a freelance magazine journalist.

How often do you write? Every day. OK – at leastĀ four times per week, 1,000 words per day.

Favorite horror novel? The Exorcist.

Favorite horror movie? The Exorcist.

Favorite science fiction novel? The Martian Chronicles.

Favorite science fiction movie? I’m a huge Star Wars fan. Most people will say their favorite SW movie is Empire, but I have to go with Revenge of the Sith. Go ahead and mock me if you want. My favorite Star Trek movie? Khan.

Favorite fantasy novel? The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart.

Favorite fantasy movie? The Fellowship of the Ring.

Favorite writers? Stephen King, H.P. Lovecraft, Richard Matheson, William Peter Blatty, W.E.B. Griffin, J.R.R. Tolkien, Mary Stewart, George R.R. Martin, Faulkner, Salinger, Hemingway, Fitzgerald, just to name a few.

Why do I write? Cos I have to. It’s pretty much the only thing I’m good at.

Bored yet, good reader?

Yours,

A.S.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

