jump to navigation

“Ghosts of Annapurna” Published in Ghostlight Magazine September 8, 2010

Posted by ambrosestolliker in News.
trackback

Greetings, good reader.

I can hardly believe I am writing this. My hands are shaking as I type. I just nabbed my first ever fiction writing credit. I am officially a published author!

Yes, it’s true – earlier today, I received word that the first “horror” story I ever wrote – Ghosts of Annapurna – will appear in the fall 2010 issue of Ghostlight Magazine. For those who don’t know, Ghostlight is a fine publication put together by the folks at the Great Lakes Association of Horror Writers.

Anyone who writes knows the agony of making one submission after another and receiving one rejection slip after another – often for years on end. It takes an act of supreme courage, I believe, to pour one’s heart out onto the page and then send what one’s written to an editor in the hope that – after years of trying – someone, Hell, anyone beside your wife and your mother, will say, “Hey, this shit isn’t half bad. Let’s print it and send that guy a check.”

Here’s what the editors at Ghostlight had to say about me and Ghosts of Annapurna: “We are the first to bring you Ambrose Stolliker, whose story was such a close runner up, this editor almost gave a dual prize [for GL Editor’s Pick] – except there can only be one champion in a death cage match. Ghosts of Annapurna brings a chill to your bones as well as your heart as a man tries to do the right thing, but maybe not for the right reasons.”

So, I hope you’ll visit the Ghostlight site and buy a copy. Mine isn’t the only good story in the upcoming issue – not by a long shot. Ghostlight is a great mag and there are many good stories in the new issue for your reading pleasure.

In the meantime, I’m not going to sit on my laurels and let my debut as an author go to my head – the road is long, I know, and the trick is to keep writing. So, I’ll keep writing. Thanks for reading.

Yours,

A.S.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

