jump to navigation

Necrotic Tissue Closing its Doors March 4, 2011

Posted by ambrosestolliker in News.
trackback

Sad news today, good reader.

I just heard that Necrotic Tissue – a great magazine – is closing its doors. There’s no other way to say it – this sucks. The magazine’s editor, R. Scott McCoy, blogged about it a week or so ago. I only found out because I went to NT’s site to check on whether it was open to short story submissions. That’s when I saw the news.

I think in the short time I knew of the mag, I submitted two, maybe three stories to the editors there. One story got real close to publication – it was cut in the last round – and the other I don’t think made it to a second reading. In any case, one thing I really, really liked about the magazine (aside from the writing) was that the editors were really responsive. And that is so important to a writer. Anyone who writes knows that they’re going to see their work get rejected more times than it will be accepted for publication.

So, when I received an e-mail from the NT editors telling me my story was good and that it was under consideration for publication, I really appreciated it. When it didn’t get published, the editors gave me good feedback on the reasons for the story’s rejection. It’s sad that NT is closing. The horror fiction market needs as many venues – both established and new – as can feasibly be sustained. As a former newspaper and magazine journalist, I know that the magazine and book publishing business is just that – a business. Unfortunately, it’s a very, very tough and unforgiving business.

R.I.P. Necrotic Tissue. I’ll miss you.

Yours,

A.S.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

