jump to navigation

In THIS House, Halloween Starts on Oct. 1st! October 1, 2011

Posted by ambrosestolliker in Musings.
trackback

Greetings, good reader. A.S. here.

I’m feeling good. Got my thousand words on the novel written today. I’m reading Robert Bloch’s Psycho for the first time. It’s the weekend.

Oh, yeah – it’s also October 1st – the first day of Halloween! That’s right, I said it. The first day of Halloween.

Most people only celebrate Halloween on Oct. 31st. I say, why short shrift yourself that way? Halloween is the best holiday of the year.

In this house, October 1st marks the beginning of 31 days of horror films, pumpkin patch sojourns and jack o-lantern carvings. It means reading the greats of the horror and sci-fi genre, both new and old – the aforementioned Bloch, H.G. Wells, Stephen King, Richard Matheson, Algernon Blackwood, Shirley Jackson, John Saul, H.P. Lovecraft, all of them.

Luckily, my wife appreciates the inner nerd within me, the person who wants be scared, who needs to be scared. She’s a good sport and always goes along for the ride, even if she doesn’t always understand that part of me that enjoys the thrill of terror.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to dedicate more time than usual to the blog – doing movie reviews (I’ve seen some amazing horror films lately that I think any true fan will want to see), fan polls (on great horror films and books) and posts on some of the adventures I intend to have this month.

To start off, I’m including below my list of top 10 scariest horror films, to be followed by a poll in the next day or two. Anyone who wants to suggest good horror movies should feel free to do so by leaving a comment here or on a subsequent post.

Here’s that list:

1. The Exorcist
2. The Amityville Horror (1979)
3. Halloween (John Carpenter’s, not that Rob Zombie abortion Hollywood tried to pawn off as Halloween)
4. A Nightmare on Elm Street (Wes Craven)
5. The Shining (Stanley Kubrick)
6. The Changeling
7. Psycho (Alfred Hitchcock)
8. 28 Days Later
9. Alien
10. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (I’ll go against conventional wisdom and risk enraging fans of the Tobe Hooper classic, but I think the remake is actually better than the original.)

Look for that poll tomorrow!

Yours,

A.S.

Comments»

1. Sara Grambusch - October 2, 2011

I’m down for 31 days of Halloween but not all those scary movies. I could probably watch Charlie Brown and The Great Pumpkin 🙂
Happy October!

ambrosestolliker - October 2, 2011

Happy October to you too, Sara, and thanks so much for reading! Don’t forget to look for a poll here later today or tomorrow and, if the mood strikes you this month, read one of the short stories I have posted here and give me your thoughts! Thanks again!

2. alexlaybourne - October 2, 2011

I love Halloween, and the idea of a whole month devoted to it is great. I agree with your list of great horror movies with one exception. And I will quite possibly be pillaried for saying it. The Shining. *holds breath* no, I’m still here.

I think in terms of filmaking, The shining is a maserpiece of cinematogrpahy and all that jazz, but compared to the book, it doesn’t hold a candle. There is so much left out, I felt Jack Torrence was completely underdeveloped as a character. The film never mention his marriage problems before they moved to the hotel, how he broke his son’s arm once, his drinking problems etc. All get glossed over, the scene with the beehive which in my view was a pivotal moment in the breakdown of the marriage.

I think Martyrs and Inside (I can never spell the real french name) are great French Horror movies, and I think the original Omen is another great movie. Not the watered down b*llocks that Julia Stiles and co offered us.

Lovecraft is truly a horror great, and (while I have not seen it) maybe The Re-Animator is worthy of a place on the list.


Leave a Reply

